YAKIMA IPA
alc: 6.5%

This beer is a celebration of the mighty West Coast hop, grown east of the Cascade mountains. Multiple varieties are used in this ale, at several different points in the brewing process. With emphasis on late hop & dry hop additions, we serve up juicy citrus flavours & aromas on a bed of pale malt.

INDIA SESSION ALE
alc: 4.3%

The India Pale Ale is without a doubt the most popular craft beer style in the world. But sometimes we want all those hops, without so much alcohol. Sometimes the night is young, the conversation is great, and we want to have more than just one. The India Session Ale was born out of this unsatisfied thirst. This is our interpretation of the fledgling style – an unbridled level of hop-thusiasm, in a package that lets you get on with your day, or night.

PILSNER
alc: 4.8%

Brewed with pilsner malt and a traditional lager yeast, this beer is hopped with Czech varieties Saaz and Premiant.  Designed to be an everyday beer, the objective was to create a thirst-quenching lager with a nice balance between the malt, yeast and noble hop profile.

NEW ENGLAND IPA
alc: 6.3%

Brewed with enormous quantities of organic El Dorado, Mosaic and Citra hops, this juicy IPA showcases the tropical fruit aromas of these hops, paired with extreme drinkability and a soft bitterness & finish.

HAIKU
alc: 5.5%

Haiku is a type of traditional short-form poetry that uses three phrases and adheres to a strict structure.  It embodies the idea of doing more with less.  And this is the philosophy behind this hazy Pale Ale.  Less alcohol, less malt, but no less of a hop-saturated experience.  And it uses three hops:  Idaho 7, Citra and El Dorado.

SOLEIL DE SINALOA
alc: 4%

Soleil de Sinaloa is our version of a Mexican-style lager. Brewed with organic malted corn and pilsner from our friends at Malterie Caux-Laflamme, this is probably the most pintable beer we have ever brewed – and it’s certified ORGANIC as well!

LA ROUSSE
alc: 4.8%

Brewed with organic pale & munich malts, we’ve added a touch of crystal malt and wheat to bring out the toasted bread & nutty accents that red ales are known for. This is not big, sweet caramel here – our low-temperature lager fermentation produces a clean yeast profile, with a thirst-quenching, semi-dry finish.

DOUBLE YAKIMA
alc: 8%

Brewed with 100% organic ingredients, this beer is a celebration of Pacific Northwest hops – namely Citra, Mosaic, Simcoe and Centennial.

AUSSIELAND
alc: 6.3%

A New England IPA hopped with enormous amounts of Ella, Vic Secret, and Galaxy hops from Australia, showcasing their unique fruity characteristics.

MÉTAMORPHE
alc: 8%

A double New England IPA brewed with Mosaic, Citra, and El Dorado hops.

WEST COAST LAGER
alc: 6%

Brewed with pilsner malt and a traditional lager yeast, this beer is hopped with varieties from the Pacific North-West in the United States.

CITRA WEISSE
alc: 5%

The German ale yeast in this beer produces aromas of banana, clove and bubble gum. Added to this are low residual sugars and a dry-hopping regime that produce a very sessionable summer ale. Goes perfectly with very hot days, friends and your favorite terrace.

OATMEAL STOUT
alc: 5%

Medium bodied & malty, this stout will win you over. Your senses will be seduced by its dark chocolate aroma and coffee flavour. Its silky smooth texture is courtesy of the flaked oats. This beer goes great with your favourite comfort food.

ECLIPSE – BLACK IPA
alc: 6.8%

We find it very hard to not dry­hop every beer that leaves the brewery. IPA, ISA, Saison, Barleywine, Berliner Weisse, Hefeweizen, Pale Ale, Farmhouse – we dry­hop them all! Dark beer styles tend to be dry hopped less often – but not this one. The Black IPA is a hybrid – a strong, dark and subtly roasty beer, that’s hopped like a Double IPA. A beer with both alcohol warmth and cold weather appeal, as well as juicy, thirst quenching hoppiness. Kind of a perfect fit for a Quebec autumn don’t you think…?

Our Story

Love at first sip

Most people remember when they had their first craft or micro-brewed beer. The experience is often a small epiphany, accompanied by comments like: “What? – beer can taste like this!?”. Our conversion to the church-of-good-beer happened in Scotland, in the tiny hamlet of Glenisla. We (the two founders of the brewery) were living in Scotland while serving our timber frame carpentry apprenticeships, and every Thursday we’d go to the local pub for a pint with our co-workers. The beer was served at cellar temperature with a hand pump, or “beer engine”, and was almost flat. And it was AMAZING. It was malty, with fruity aromas and flavours, and it usually clocked in at a whopping 3.5 to 4 % alcohol. We had just been introduced to cask conditioned ale, also known as real ale in the UK.

Guys + stainless steel = happy

Inspired by the beer, we went to visit the relatively new brewery (along with several distilleries in the area), and were blown away. Our noses were assaulted with the thick sweet aroma of malted barley steeping in hot water, and the huge shiny stainless steel tanks mesmerized us. Wouldn’t it be cool to start a brewery someday…

Brewing on the backburner

Well, many years went by as we came back to Canada and started our timber frame construction business, and the brewery idea fell to the back-burner. Things were going well with the construction, but then, during the 2008 worldwide recession, our business had a very difficult downturn, as clients got nervous and either cancelled or delayed their building projects.

If you can’t build, might as well brew, right?

With nothing to build for several months, we finally had time to try our luck at home-brewing. We cobbled together a few pots, and began brewing beers based on the styles we enjoyed in the UK. The results were delicious. As we began sharing our beer with friends and family, the idea of someday opening a brewery was re-kindled. Four years, and a lot of hard work later, we finally opened our doors to the public on June 23rd, 2012. Fast forward to today, and we now have a diverse group of talented people working with us to brew, sell and distribute our beer across the province of Quebec. We hope Le Castor’s beers will excite your taste buds & inspire you to begin your own craft beer journey of discovery. Cheers!

Media

La Presse : L’excellence signée Le Castor

RATEBEER: 100 BEST BREWERIES IN THE WORLD

Your Local Journal, Rigaud microbrewery ranked among the top 100 in the world by RateBeer website

Montreal Gazette, In a small warehouse in Rigaud, it has become all about the beer.

La Presse: La Citra Weisse, un pur délice!

GET
IN TOUCH

LE CASTOR BREWING COMPANY
Email: info@microlecastor.ca
Tel: 450-451-2337
67 CHEMIN DES VINAIGRIERS, RIGAUD, QC, CANADA

Le Castor Brewing Company is certified by Ecocert Canada.

EcoCert
FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

THE BREWERY IS CURRENTLY NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.

BACK TO TOP

YAKIMA IPA
alc: 6.5%

Cette bière rend hommage aux arômes puissants du houblon de la côte Ouest, cultivé à l’est de la chaîne de montagnes des Cascades. Nous ajoutons plusieurs variétés de ce houblon à différentes étapes du brassage. Leurs arômes citronnés, accentués par le houblonnage à cru, viennent joyeusement égayer la rondeur des malts utilisés.

SESSION HOUBLON
alc: 4.3%

La India Pale Ale est sans aucun doute le style de bière artisanale le plus populaire au monde. Parfois, on a envie de houblon dans une bière plus légère. La soirée est jeune, les conversations coulent à flot et on souhaite en boire plus d’une. La India Session Ale est née pour combler ce désir inassouvi. C’est notre interprétation de ce style émergent : un niveau débridé de houblonnage dans une bière qui vous permet de garder la tête froide, de jour comme de nuit.

PILSNER
alc: 4.8%

Brassée avec du malt pilsner et une levure traditionnelle de type lager, cette bière est houblonnée avec des variétés tchèques Saaz et Premiant.  Conçue comme bière de tous les jours, l’objectif était de créer une bière de soif avec un bel équilibre entre le malt, la levure et le profil des houblons nobles.

NEW ENGLAND IPA
alc: 6.3%

Brassée avec d’énormes quantités d’El Dorado, Mosaic et Citra biologique, cette bière célèbre les qualités tropicales et fruitées du houblon, mariées à une buvabilité extrême et une faible amertume.

HAIKU
alc: 5.5%

Le Haïku : un poème japonais de forme courte qui utilise trois phrases et respecte une structure stricte. L’incarnation de faire plus, avec moins. Et c’est la philosophie qui inspire cette pale ale de type New England. Moins d’alcool, moins de malt, mais toujours une expérience saturée de houblon. Et bien sûr, houblonnée avec trois variétés : Idaho 7, Citra et El Dorado.

SOLEIL DE SINALOA
alc: 4%

La Soleil de Sinaloa est notre version d’une bière blonde de style mexicain. Brassée avec du maïs malté bio et du malt pilsner bio de nos amis de la Malterie Caux-Laflamme, c’est probablement la bière la plus «pintable» que nous ayons jamais brassée – et elle est certifiée BIO en plus !

LA ROUSSE
alc: 4.8%

Brassée à base de malts pâle & munich bios, nous avons ajouté une touche de malt cristal et de blé pour faire ressortir les accents de pain & noisette grillé qui font la réputation de la rousse. Nous ne sommes pas dans le gros caramel sucré ici – notre fermentation à basse température avec une levure lager produit un profil de levure propre, avec une finale semi-sèche et désaltérante.

DOUBLE YAKIMA
alc: 8%

Brassée avec des ingrédients 100% biologiques, la bière est une célébration des houblons du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique – on parle de Citra, Mosaic, Centennial et Simcoe.

AUSSIELAND
alc: 6.3%

Une New England IPA, houblonnée avec du houblon australien: Galaxy, Ella et Vic Secret. Cette bière met en valeur leurs arômes fruités et saveurs uniques.

MÉTAMORPHE
alc: 8%

La grande sœur de notre New England IPA régulière, la bière est houblonnée avec des variétés de houblon similaires, incluant le Mosaic, Citra, El Dorado… et autres.

WEST COAST LAGER
alc: 6%

Brassée avec du malt pilsner et une levure traditionnelle de type lager, cette bière est houblonnée avec des variétés du nord-ouest Pacifique des États-Unis.

CITRA WEISSE
alc: 5%

La levure de bière allemande dans cette bière produit des arômes de banane, clou de girofle et de la gomme à mâcher. Ajoutez à cela un régime de houblonnage à cru, et une densité résiduelle faible, et vous avez une bière d’été, très ‘sessionable’. Cette bière se marie très bien avec des journées chaudes, vos amis et votre terrasse favorite.

STOUT à L’AVOINE
alc: 5%

Riche et maltée, cette jolie stout saura vous séduire. Vos sens se laisseront envoûter par son arôme de chocolat noir,sa douce saveur de café et sa robe veloutée, provenant des meilleurs flocons d’avoine. Cette bières accompagnera parfaitement votre “comfort food” de prédilection.

L’ÉCLIPSE – IPA NOIRE
alc: 6.8%

Nous trouvons cela très difficile de ne pas houblonner à cru chacune de nos bières sortant de notre brasserie. IPA, ISA, Saison, Barleywine, Berliner Weisse, Hefeweizen, Pale Ale, Farmhouse: nulle n’y échappe. Malgré le fait que les bières foncées soient moins souvent houblonnées à cru, celle-­ci l’est généreusement​. La Black IPA est un hybride; une bière foncée avec des notes subtiles de torréfaction, mais houblonnée comme une Double IPA. C’est une bière juteuse qui étanche la soif, mais dont la chaleur alcoolisée invite au temps froid. ​​Parfaite ​pour nos automnes québécois… vous ne croyez pas?

Notre Histoire

Le coup de foudre à la première gorgée

En général, les gens se rappellent de la première fois qu’ils ont goûté une bière artisanale ou une bière de microbrasserie. Il s’agit d’une petite épiphanie et les gens réagissent avec des commentaires comme «Ah ouais… Je ne savais pas que la bière pouvait avoir ce goût!» Notre conversion à «l’église de la bonne bière» s’est passée dans le petit hameau de Glenisla en Écosse. En ce temps-là, nous (les fondateurs de la brasserie) vivions en Écosse afin de compléter nos apprentissages en construction à charpenterie traditionnelle. Mais cela a mené à une découverte plus approfondie de la bière, car chaque jeudi nous allions prendre une pinte au pub local avec nos collègues. Ils servaient la bière à la température de la cave (ambiante), avec une pompe à main. Et elle était FORMIDABLE! Cette bière avait un goût malté, une odeur fruitée et un niveau d’alcool entre 3,5 à 4 %. En fait, nous venions de découvrir l’ale conditionnée en tonneau, connue au Royaume-Uni comme étant «la vraie ale».

Les hommes + l’acier inoxydable = le bonheur

Inspirés par ces bières, nous sommes partis visiter les brasseries de la région et nous étions émerveillés! L’odeur sucrée et épaise du malt trempé dans l’eau chaude a attaqué nos nez. Les énormes réservoirs brillants en acier inoxydable nous ont fascinés. Quelle idée chouette de créer une brasserie un jour…

Le brassage au second plan

Alors, nous sommes retournés au Canada lancer notre entreprise de construction, donc l’idée de la brasserie a été reléguée au second plan pendant plusieurs années. Ensuite, dans le cadre de la récession mondiale de 2008, notre entreprise de construction a vécu plusieurs mois difficiles de fléchissement des ventes, car nos clients sont devenus nerveux et ont soit annulé ou reporté leurs projets de construction.

S’il n’est pas possible de construire, pourquoi pas brasser?

Ayant rien à construire pendant quelques mois, nous avons finalement décidé d’essayer de brasser des bières faites à la maison. Nous avons donc concocté quelques pots en acier inoxydable et avons commencé à brasser des bières à base de malt, basées sur les bières britanniques que nous avions goûtées au Royaume-Uni. Les résultats étaient délicieux. En partageant nos bières faites à la maison avec nos amis et familles, nous avons ravivé l’idée de partir une brasserie un jour. Quatre ans plus tard on a ouvert nos portes, le 23 juin, 2012! Plusieurs pintes de bière plus tard, nous avons maintenant un groupe diversifié de personnes talentueuses qui travaillent avec nous pour brasser, vendre et distribuer nos bières à travers la province de Québec. Espérant que les bières Le Castor stimuleront vos papilles gustatives et vous inspireront dans vos propres voyages de découverte des bières artisanales. Santé!

Média

La Presse : L’excellence signée Le Castor

RATEBEER : LES 100 MEILLEURES BRASSERIES AU MONDE

Rigaud microbrewery ranked among the top 100 in the world by RateBeer website

Montreal Gazette, In a small warehouse in Rigaud, it has become all about the beer.

La Presse: La Citra Weisse, un pur délice!

CONTACTEZ-
NOUS

MICROBRASSERIE LE CASTOR
Email: info@microlecastor.ca
Tel: 450-451-2337
67 CHEMIN DES VINAIGRIERS, RIGAUD, QC, CANADA

Microbrasserie Le Castor est certifié par Ecocert Canada.

EcoCert
SUIVEZ-NOUS FACEBOOK

LA BRASSERIE N’EST PRESENTEMENT PAS OUVERTE AU PUBLIC.

RETOUR À L’ACCUEIL